Hierarchy of Angels: Types And Their Roles

The word “angel” comes from the Greek “Angelos,” meaning messenger.

Angels are supernatural beings who serve as messengers and helpers of God to carry out different divine duties.

They are spiritual beings of pure divine energy who were in existence before the creation of man, as is mentioned in the Bible.

Job 38:4-7: Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? When the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy?

Angels play a central role in each of the three great Abrahamic religions, that is, Christianity, Judaism, and Islam, who often depict them as celestial intermediaries between God and humans. 

Angels also protect, assist, and guide humans besides performing their divine duties as servants of God.They do not have free will and obey what God commands them to.

9 Types of Angels

The angels are divided into 9 choirs and form three hierarchies. 

Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite was a Greek author, Christian theologian, and Neoplatonic philosopher who put forward the most influential angelic hierarchy in his book De Coelesti Hierarchia.

Dionysius described nine levels of ethereal beings which he grouped into three orders.

Highest Order

The first tier is the highest order of angels and includes Seraphim, Cherubim, and Thrones. They are the ones who are closest to God and speak directly to Him. 


Seraphim angels are also known as the defenders of God’s throne.

They comprise the highest and most powerful rank in the celestial hierarchy. 

Seraphim’s are God’s servants and sit closest to the throne of God.

These ethereal beings are also known as fiery serpents and may appear with six wings and four heads.

In the Old Testament, the Seraphim angel is mentioned by name. Isiah 6 1-7 reads: Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar.

The seraphim choir of angels consists of Michael, Seraphiel, Jehoel, Kemuel, Metatron, Uriel, and Nathanael.


Cherubim Angels were created to guard sacred space.

They are the keepers of the heavenly records and hold the knowledge of God.

These spiritual beings praise God constantly and channel the positive energy of harmony, protection, and wisdom.

Cherubim’s are thought to have four faces and four wings covered with eyes.

The cherubim choir of angels includes Gabriel, Cherubiel, Raphael, and Zophiel.


Thrones are the ones whose duty is to bring God’s justice to Earth.

They are the channel between God and the rest of the lower angels.

Colossians 1:16 says, “For in Him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through Him and for Him.

The thrones choir includes Orifiel, Zaphkiel, Jolhiel, and Raziel.

Middle Orders

The second tier of angels is made up of heavenly governors. They are:


Dominions or dominations are the highest of the middle tier.

Their heavenly duty is to give commands and responsibilities to the angels below them. Besides that, they also bring divine justice and show mercy towards people who deserve it. 

The dominion angels don’t come over to humans but in extreme situations like an accident.


Virtues are the Angels of Grace, also called fortresses, strongholds, or the shining ones.

They assist in governing nature and keeping order in all things. Their divine duty also includes bringing God’s blessings to Earth, in the form of miracles.

The Virtue Choir includes Uzziel, Gabriel, Michael, Peliel, Barbiel, Gabriel, Haniel, and Tarshish.


They protect and guard the world. They include Camael, Raphael, and Verchiel.

Lowest Orders

The third tier is the lowest order of angels. These are the ones whose duty is to help and assist humanity and bring God’s messages to us. They include:


The first order of angels in the third sphere is principalities or sometimes referred to as princedoms.

They are the protector of human politics and religion and assist those dealing with leadership problems and human rights. They are shaped similar to rays of light.

Nisroc, Naniel, Requel, and Amael are among the principalities choir.


Archangels are the second order of angels in the third sphere.They do not possess wings, bodies, or swords, but they can look like a human.

Their duties in the heavenly hierarchy include the daily operation of the cosmos as well as bringing God’s messengers to humans.

In the canon of scripture, the only archangels mentioned are Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael. Other archangels include Jophiel, Ariel, Azrael, and Chamuel.

Guardian Angels

The guardian angel is the lowest choir of angel hierarchy.

These are the most accessible angels to humans and are appointed to each one of us. These heavenly watchers protect us and bring us messages from the spiritual realms. They are with us all the time, praying for us and inspire us to make good decisions.

You can tap the supernatural power of your guardian angels anytime. Guardian angel communication is a way of building a relationship with these ethereal beings. They send you signs and symbols to deliver help and guidance. One common way angels use to guide us is through numbers, also known as Angel Numbers, but you need to be vigilant and pay attention.